Can too much philosophy ruin someone

I ran across this question browsing some forums searching for space combat games with realistic physics.

Basically, I think the OP was saying that his pursuit of philosophy robbed him of his [imminent cheesiness – ugh] humanity.

I found myself relating to the OP in many ways – passages such as

“Ive spent more time on daydreaming and philosophizing than on anything else. On everything from small to big. I consider myself perceptive and wise, but by NO MEANS do I consider myself smart ( I suck at math and practical stuff). Some days to the extreme Ive spent hours thinking about simple moral dilemmas.”


moral and existential nihilism is the “closest thing to absolute truth” and I stand by its message that “there is no good or evil, only cause and effect”.”

Are really close to the conclusions I myself have gotten to in my years of philosophical introspection (although with me being only 17, that might be subject to change, or it might not). Although I (as all humans are) think in the frame of my existing prejudice, I also try (at times when I can remember to) to detach myself from situations and obtain as objective a line of thought as I am willing to be.

But then he said that the knowledge depleted his innocence and now he is corrupted or something, and at first glance I got the realization that the same might very much happen to me if I keep on thinking philosophically about life.

Can philosophy ruin you?

I have always believed that there is no possible way for conflicted arguments to coexist.

My philosophy that there has been zero concrete evidence of divine intervention has allowed me to conclude that if there is such a thing as god, he certainly isn’t doing much to our perceivable world aside from perhaps observing, and such a god – aside from perhaps creating the universe – has had no other interactions with our perceivable world and is thus unlikely to interact with our world in the near future, thus making all religion pointless. Mountains of evidence against existing religions has furthered my distance from any beliefs and allowed me to break my bounds with the god-awful Christianity. Philosophically I am a non-interference agnostic, and practically an atheist.

As a firm believer in cause and effect, I too do not perceive acts of “good” and “evil”, but merely acts beneficial or contradictory towards human coexistence. I know that while it is the criminal that commits the crime, it is not his fault because he was completely compelled by circumstance to do so. Therefore, my preferred justice system is one that is preventative, not one based purely on punishment or the threat of violence. Items such as “mob justice” and “vengeance” are – understandable – but harmful to human coexistence. As for the “human coexistence”, it is because I have concluded that the purpose of life is satisfaction. If someone is satisfied, they will not have further needs or wants or goals in life. However it is not as simple as equality or wealth, as everyone is differently satisfied – some people might find satisfaction in staying alive, while others will find satisfaction in killing, while others will find satisfaction in being unhappy. And ultimately, I have concluded that we are on our way to the satisfaction. My idiot mother often tells me that recent natural disasters are a sign that her asshole christian god is coming soon, but I sure hope there is no god because the future looks awesome.

Perhaps what some would think to be the most inhuman of all, is my philosophical ideal that everything in the world can be boiled down to logic and numbers. It is my conclusion that the more you know about a circumstance, then the more accurately you’d be able to predict the outcome. It’s like a math problem, but much, much more complicated.

On the flip side, while I dislike illogical items such as “chance” and “religion”, I also understand the necessity for them, sort of like a necessary evil.

Of course nothing happens by chance – you roll a dice, and then factors such as aerodynamics, physics, the applied strength, the initial orientation and the material of the dice etc all come into play so that the result is whatever the result is. But since calculating the result is too much of a chore, humans look to a simple, crude but elegant solution of chance and probability which while imprecise, also requires way less brainpower to handle. Now however with calculation technology getting better and better, chance becomes less and less of a factor as reality takes a stronger foothold.

Same for religion – our ancestors were too retarded to grasp the concept of science so if you tried to make them civilized through science and logic, they wouldn’t react too kindly to you and most likely stone you to death or disregard you. Therefore the ancient wise men had to resort to religion, because while “tiny living blobs called bacteria” was preposterous to the 1000 BC brain, a giant man in the sky called god was much easier for their cave-brains to handle and did not require any actual evidence and was therefore a much more efficient way of control, and a society without control would not have lasted very long. So I admit that without religion, an atheist society would have had a way harder time becoming civilization. However just because religion was the prerequisite to atheism, doesn’t mean it is a good thing for the modern age. Nowadays, religion only serves to hinder the progression of civilization. An easy example would be the Muslims who used religion to persuade Jihadists to suicide bomb. Or the Nazis who said that god hated Jews. Or the Catholic church and its grudge against birth control and stem cell research and abortion. The religious don’t realize it is not science that contradicts the bible, but the bible that contradicts science. And science is reality.

So am I ruined by my philosophy? I’ve always believed that there is a right answer. I’ve always believed that a right autocracy is always better than a right democracy, however I also recognize that the world has never once encountered a right autocracy, and it probably never will.

There is a wrong philosophy that ruins you, then there is a right philosophy that helps you.

To me, humanity – or at least the hollywood variant of humanity – is unimportant. My “brand” of philosophy – while heavily oriented on logic and emotional detachment – has actually and arguably made me more human, while at the same time making my life more fulfilling. When I choose to do something considered illogical, it isn’t out of ignorance but rather out of the conscious decision of an intelligent human being. That is a step above people who are without philosophy who live in blissful ignorance (not that there’s anything wrong with blissful ignorance – I mean if it makes you happy then sure be as ignorant as you like).

Well handled philosophy can be a great asset in enriching your life.

If you can't think of anything to comment, just fill in your bank account details or social security number.

