An Atheist’s faith

My faith is to suspend my own irrational doubts about a rational claim, while your faith is to suspend rational doubts about an irrational claim.

My faith is overcoming the disbelief that something I can’t lift with my bare hands (eg. a 400 ton 747) is able to fly, your faith is overcoming the disbelief about claims that there’s this magical person that is able to lift a 747 through his own sheer ingenuity.

My faith stems from reasonably proven scientific (logical (theoretical) and experimental) evidence, your faith stems from pure arbitrary willful negligence of proven data (ie. the term blind faith).

My leap of faith says that the average person can bridge a 2 meter gap no problem and there’s that guy who went before me waving back and there’s also a safety redundancy to prevent me from falling to my death, while your leap of faith tells you to jump into a 2000 meter deep abyss which nobody has lived to tell the tale but you are assured that those who leap with full confidence anyway will have the ground impact magically cushioned (by the corpses of past jumpers so maybe they weren’t lying after all).

The barriers to my faith are natural animal impulses embedded in my person that have not yet adapted to the rapid influx of new knowledge, the barriers to your faith are the newfound information that disproves your old knowledge which you cling onto because of your fear of reality.

“it takes more faith to be an atheist.” No, not really. If you need faith to become an atheist, then you’re afraid of the wrong things.

One thought on “An Atheist’s faith

  1. “My faith is overcoming the disbelief that something I can’t lift with my bare hands (eg. a 400 ton 747) is able to fly, your faith is overcoming the disbelief about claims that there’s this magical person that is able to lift a 747 through his own sheer ingenuity.”

    Science and engineering is what allows the lifting of the 747. Faith is what allows it to be flown into buildings.

If you can't think of anything to comment, just fill in your bank account details or social security number.

